Skip to content Skip to menu

Thalanyji Recognised by Community

Thalanyji walked away with two Awards on Friday 2 November.

Thalanyji CEO, Matthew Slack, attended the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) Volunteer Employer Recognition Award (VERA) at Government House where he collected a Gold Award for going above and beyond in supporting employees to volunteer their time to local emergency services. Matthew was joined by Nathan Ireland, Thalanyji Mechanical Workshop Superintendent and Onslow Firefighter volunteer.  

Meanwhile Matthew Hansen, Thalanyji Legal Counsel, and Megan MacNeill, Thalanyji Marketing Manager travelled to Karratha for the inaugural Pilbara Community Service Excellence Awards. Thalanyji was finalists for Aboriginal Organisation/Corporation – Outstanding Commitment to Best Practice, Most Outstanding Medium Organisation and the Pilbara People’s Choice Award.

The organisation was delighted to pick up the Pilbara People’s Choice Award as voted for by the community. The calibre of nominations for the Award was high and over 2,500 people went out of their way to vote for the organisations that have touched their lives.  

Quotes attributed to Matthew Slack, Thalanyji CEO

"Winning awards is always excellent but it means even more when it comes from the community, that is how we know we are doing the right thing.”

“Community is at the centre of everything we do and continue to do, it is fantastic to see my team recognised for the hard work and dedication they put into improving and developing our community.”

“At Thalanyji we are 100% behind staff engaging with the community and fully support them if they choose to volunteer their time for the benefit of the community.”

“Picking up the Pilbara People’s Choice Award is spectacular, we are really humbled to have the communities support. We were up against some tough competition from other organisations we also respect for the work they do.”

VERA Award 2018
VERA Award 2018 - Nathan Ireland and Matthew Slack
Pilbara People's Choice Award
Pilbara People's Choice Award - Jamie Cooper, Matthew Hansen, Megan MacNeill from Thalanyji
Back to News